Everything you need to know about UAE


United Arab Emirates abbreviated as UAE or sometimes simply called the Emirates is an Arabian Gulf ┬ácountry formed on December 02nd 1971. As of 2013, the UAE’s population was 9.2 million, of which 1.4 million are Emirati citizens and 7.8 million are expatriates mainly from the Indian Sub Continent.

Seven Emirates

UAE is a federation of seven emirates; Abu Dhabi (which serves as the capital), Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain. Each emirate is governed by an absolute monarch; together, they jointly form the Federal Supreme Council. Monarch of Abu Dhabi is the President of the United Arab Emirates.

Religion & Language of UAE

Islam is the official religion of the United Arab Emirates. Arabic is the official language (although English and Indian dialects are widely spoken, with English being the language of business and education particularly in Abu Dhabi and Dubai).

Topics Covered in this article

History of UAE, Population of UAE, Seven Emirates, UAE language, UAE religion